SB From the Eye of a Professional

As I was sitting in my living room this afternoon brainstorming a possible topic for my second weekly blog post, my eyes were drawn to the many magazines on my coffee table. On the top of the stack was none other than Santa Barbara Magazine, which immediately caught my attention. I have never read the magazine before so I started flipping through the pages, skimming through the different ads and articles. The magazine I soon learned, covers a wide topic of the local styles, foods and wine, entertainment, home decor, gardening, health, beauty, and children. The magazine is released quarterly, as I discovered from the two issues that I own.

afterlight

This is a photo I took of my mom enjoying some light reading cozied up with my dog on the couch before bed. The latest issue that has been released is the Winter 2014, shortly after the Best of 2014 issue was released. The friendly writing and layout of this magazine makes for a very enjoyable read. The photography draws me in and gives me a different perspective on various spots here in SB.

afterlight-1

The two spreads show above are from the food and kids sections of the magazine, respectively. Something that I especially love about these articles is that they include where to find everything pictured, and specifically in the “Get Moving” page, there are details of various fun work out activies that can be found in SB. The inclusion of these intimate spots lets the reader know that they are coming from a true local, and therefore gives off much less of a touristy feel.

afterlight-2

More in depth details about the magazine can be found on its website, here

What do you think?

